• Menu
  • Menu

Featured

Sparks, OK

Photo Galleries at End of Article Sparks, Oklahoma lays on land that was once part of the Sac and Fox Reservation, which was dissolved in 1890 when the principal chiefs signed an agreement with the...

Gans Jail

Information on the Gans calaboose is slim to none, which can probably mean it wasn’t of much use to the city. A single cell concrete structure with a barrel roof was built probably sometime...

Tee Pee Drive-In

The Tee Pee Drive-In dates back to 1949 when it was built along historic Route 66 by Video Theaters. Tee Pee opened on May 5, 1950, and had a capacity for over 400 cars and was a pride and joy for...

Claremore Boathouse

In April 1938 it was requested by Bert Sprangel, the light and water superintendent of Claremore Lake to have a boathouse built. Plans for an $8,000 rock building were sent to Washington for approval...

Amber Jail

Not much can be found about the Amber tiny calaboose. Unfortunately more history that has been forgotten in our great state. It does exhibit classic signs of being built around 1910 featuring a...

Arnett School

Most people know Arnett, OK as being located in Ellis County but many don’t know there is another one in Harmon County. Now, this Arnett is the one we will be talking about but only consists of...

Ron School

Excitement buzzed through the small town of Ron in October of 1939, word had just come that the Works Project Administration had approved the project for Ron School Consolidated No. 12. The...

Airline Drive-In

In the fifties and sixties, drive-ins brought in multitudes of families, classic car gurus, and teenagers for an outdoor movie experience like no other. The Airline Drive-In opened in July 1952 and...

Prairie Grove School/Church

Located just West of Stratford lies a dilapidated building in a field, during the summer its vibrant red bricks clash beautifully with the green foliage that engulfs it. During the winter months, it...

Bennington Jail

The first calaboose of Bennington Oklahoma was constructed sometime during or before 1904 according to government maps. This was the only jail located in town and sat off of Nail and Williams Street...

Eden Baptist Church

In June 1917 a new church was built on this site, with the frame building having 30×40 dimensions and renamed from Valley Center Baptist to the Eden Baptist Church. The congregation over the...

Sunshine Laundry Cleaners

Dating back to 1928 when it was constructed this building has been home to a laundry company. Starting out with National Sunshine Laundry Co., they were known around Oklahoma City as one of the best...

Roff Jail

The Roff jail was build after 1911 according to fire insurance maps that fail to show it at its current location. This small cell would have been used mostly for petty criminals, drunks and nusences...

Chickasha Jail

Chickasha’s old territorial jail was not always a jail, in fact it innocently started out as a storage room for construction workers working on the courthouse. In 1895 it was then converted...

Tom Mix Jail (Dewey City Jail)

For decades this two-room jail was known as the Dewey city jail, today it is more popularly known as the ‘Tom Mix Jail’. In 1912, before Tom Mix became a huge silent movie star he was the...

Stilwell Jail

The small cowboy jail of Stilwell’s history dates back to the early 1910s. While the exact date of its construction was sometime between 1910-1914, it first showed up on existing fire insurance...

Copyright © 2009- - Abandoned Atlas Foundation - board@AbandonedAtlas.com | Designed By Prairie Nation Creative, LLC - Disclaimer